PopBopRocktilUDrop

From the Land of Band Box Records

Band Box – All in the Family with Uncle Will

October 17, 2014
craigr244

BAND BOX LP 01 - GINSBURG WILLIAM DDIS A FINAL BAND BOX LP 01 - GINSBURG WILLIAM DDIS B FINAL

This item turned up on Ebay this week.  It is quite likely a one off vanity pressing in LP format.  The seller does not have a cover for the pressing and most likely it never had one especially with the typed label sticker.  When I first saw this listed it caught my attention in two ways – first being a Band Box pressing which I had never seen before and second – the artist – “Wm. L. (Louis) Ginsburg D.D.S”.

I jokingly asked my wife if she had any dentists on the Ginsburg side of her family and she responded “Yes, uncle Will was a dentist.  He was our family dentist.”  So next I checked with our family historian – Rick in Washington State and he confirmed that uncle Bill’s full name was indeed William L. Ginsburg.

Uncle Will was born in New York in May of 1895 and moved to Denver where he was married to Sylvia Shapiro.  They had two sons Leland and Jordan.  Leland has passed away and nothing is known of Jordan.  William practiced in Denver and his office was located in the old Republic Building downtown.  He passed away in April of 1982 and is buried with his wife in the Jewish Cemetery in West Denver near The Mills Shopping Center.

Family members including Rick and my wife had no idea that uncle Will had musical talents!  Now I am pleased to learn that I have officially entered into the Band Box family via my marriage to a Ginsburg relative!

The seller of this record has no knowledge of Uncle Will – and stated they picked up the record in a Loveland, Colorado estate sale.

Leave a comment

Required fields are marked *.