PopBopRocktilUDrop

From the Land of Band Box Records

The British Invasion: September 5th, 1964

November 24, 2011
craigr244

The Shevelles/s from Wales???

This Wales group made their U.S. chart debut this week with “I Could Conquer the World”.  This would be their only charting hit in the states and they failed to chart in the U.K. as well.

From what I have been able to determine they were from Wales – but beyond that I am at a loss for group member information.  They were fronted by a Mike Stevens as can be seen from the singles they did release.  I also found another reference to a Tony Sheverton and the Shevells somewhere on the internet, but could not verify that this was the same group.  Tony’s last name should be spelled “Sheveton” and I even found some references on a Blog that his original last name spelling might have been “Cheverton”.  You can listen to this record on YouTube and they sound great!

The Shevelles Only Hit

It is obvious from some of the U.K. singles I located on line that Tony recorded around 1964 until at least 1967.   He charted once in the U.K. with a single titled “Million Drums” – February 1964.  It entered and exited the charts at number 49.  In addition, I have located references to Mike Stevens also performing with the “Wales Conquerors” as well as a group called the “Squires”.  I have contacted a Welsh Beat Blogger for answers to my riddles.

The Mysterious Shevelles from Wales

I Located the above poster which sold last year on U.K. Ebay for $100 – featuring an appearance by the “Shevelles”.

But anyway – hail to the Beat Group The Shevelles or Shevells!

British Invasion on the U.S. Billboard Charts – September 5th, 1964

(Visit Joel Whitburn’s Record Research website presenting Billboard Charts)

Top Invaders:
Number 1 – Animals – The House of the Rising Sun
Number 4 – Dave Clark Five – Because
Number 8 – A Hard Day’s Night – The Beatles
Number 9 – Gerry & Pacemakers – How Do You Do It

Debuts:
Shevelles – I Could Conquer the World – #127 Peaks at #104

Nashville Teens – Tobacco Road – #114
P.J. Proby – Hold Me – #89
Billy J. Kramer & Dakotas – From a Window – #64
Dusty Springfield – Wishin & Hopin – #23
Chad & Jeremy – A Summer Song #60
Billy J. Kramer & Dakotas – I’ll Keep You Satisfied – #51
Millie Small – Sweet William – #40
Rolling Stones – Tell Me – #50
Beatles – Ain’t She Sweet – #30
Beatles – I’ll Cry Instead – #34
Beatles – And I Love Her – #12
Beatles – If I Fell – #53
Gale Garnett – We’ll Sing in the Sunshine #24
Brian Poole – Someone Someone – #103
Searchers – Someday We’re Gonna Love Again #46
Beatles – I’m Happy Just to Dance with You #112

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

