From the Land of Band Box Records

The British Invasion: March 20th, 1965

April 1, 2012

The Koobas

The Koobas formed in about 1962 as The Kubas.  They were a Mersey-based group represented by Brian Epstein.   Members included Roy Morris (guitar), Stu Leatherwood (guitar) both formerly with The Thunderbirds (not with Chris Farlowe’s version), Tony O’Riley (drums), and Keith Ellis (bass) both from The Midnighters.  Ellis went on to Van der Graff Generator and Leatherwood would go onto March Hare.  They never charted in the U.S.   They had U.S. single releases on both Kapp and Capitol Records but no long play releases during the Invasion Era.

The Koobas - Take Me for a Little While

Back Beat with Tommy Steele

Here is Tommy Steele in his pre-Disney days, before Beat Music had a full head of steam and he was still an early rocker.

The British Invasion on the Charts – March 20th, 1965

Number 1 – Eight Days a Week – The Beatles (2nd week at number 1)
Number 5 – Can’t You Hear My Heartbeat – Herman’s Hermits (up from number 8)
Number 6 – Ferry Cross the Mersey – Gerry & the Pacemakers (up from number 7)
Number 15 – Come Home – The Dave Clark Five (up from number 19)

Chart Debuts:

Number 83 – Bumble Bee – The Searchers (peaks at number 21)
Number 135 – I’ll Never Find Another You – The Seekers (peaks at number 4)

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: