PopBopRocktilUDrop

From the Land of Band Box Records

Cardiff’s Shevells

January 21, 2015
craigr244

Flirting With Fame!

Former Shevell Brian Davies from Wales contacted me through the Blog and provided us with this very interesting story of the The Shevells – a group which has had some confusion surrounding it’s members and origin.  This should should help clear up the Shevell Story!
SHEVETON TONY

“The history of the shevells go back to 1962.  as a 15 year old schoolboy I teamed up with Tony Sheveton to form a band called the Raiders, the lead guitarist with us was Dave Edmunds who went on to have his own hit records, (most notably “I Hear You Knocking”).

Tony left to go solo and was signed to Oreol Records.  I went on to form a new band with Mike Stevens (guitar/singer), Eddie Lace, (lead guitar), Trevor Lewis (piano), Bob Jones (drums) and myself on bass.  We called ourselves “The Afro Cuban Combo”.  God knows where we got that name from and I think it was early 1963 we entered an all Wales group competition.  The prize was a recording contract with Oriole records.  One of the judges was John Schroder the A and R man for Oriole.  We went on to win the competition, beating a group called Tommy Scott and the Senators who went on to become Tom Jones and the Squires.

When we went up to London to live, Oriole Records thought because we were friends with Tony Sheveton, it might be ideal to team up with him and change the group name to the Shevells, and record under the name “Tony Sheveton and the Shevells”.   Tony went on to have a solo hit in Australia called “A Million Drums”.  That is when Mike took over lead vocals and we became The Shevells.

Towards the end of 1964 I had a chance to join a new band that the kinks manager, Larry Page was putting together,called “the Riot Squad” which included Mitch Mitchell on drums  who went on to drum with Jimmy Hendricks, Graham Bonney on guitar, singer/songwriter, Ron Ryan (who wrote “Bits and Pieces” and “Because” for the Dave Clark Five, so I left to be replaced by Geoff Mcarthy from Cardiff.  The shevells played often at the flamingo club in Wardour St, London with Georgie Game and the Blue Flames.

When he Shevells disbanded I think around the 70,s Mike joined tom jones backing band the Squires as lead singer as Tom was now singing with big orchestras.  Tom’s manager Gordon Mills asked mike to record a song he thought was a good song.  Mike thought it was,nt suitable for him so declined, that song turned out to be “Proud Mary”.

Mike was a great singer and should have done more so should Tony Sheveton. Both came back to Cardiff in Wales in the early 70,s.  Mike joined the band in the top rank and Tony and myself ended up resident in local nightclubs.  As I said Mike, Tony and myself meet up every couple of weeks for a coffee and a chat.  In fact we met up last Thursday,( to reminisce how close we were to making it) as we were one of the first bands in Cardiff in 1956.

the-shevelles-i-could-conquer-the-world-world-artists[1]

19 Comments

  1. I liked hearing the history. Thanks!

  2. I would love to meet up with any of the Shevells,I was the drummer in the band for five years.I was the only Londoner,and have great memories of our time together.I would drive to Cardiff to catch up with Mike Jeff Trevor and Eddie at anytime that suits all.Come on chaps ,get in touch. My no is 07860 439 961

    • Ray – I sent you an email with Brian Davies email address – Hope you guys can reunite! I added your comment to the Shevells listing as well

  3. I remember the Shevells from the mid ´60´s. I met Trevor Lewis (keyboards) in the Flamingo Club when they were No. 2 to Georgie Fame and the Blue Flames. I also remember their record Watermelon Man which should have done better than what it did!!!!! Those were the days!!!! How many members of the band are still around?

    • You can search the comments on my site for some correspondence from Shevells: Have received the following from former members:

      “Brian contacted me and related that he, Tony and Mike all eventually made their way back to Wales and now meet often for coffee and to recall the old days. This in from Ray Stock in May, 2015: “I would love to meet up with any of the Shevells,I was the drummer in the band for five years.I was the only Londoner,and have great memories of our time together.I would drive to Cardiff to catch up with Mike Jeff Trevor and Eddie at anytime that suits all.Come on chaps ,get in touch. My no is 07860 439 961″

      • Great to get your response!!!!! Is Trevor still with us do you know????????????????

      • I will send you an email of a band member who was going to Cardiff to locate his band mates

      • Hi Craig,I have not heard from any of the guys in response to my wish to meet up with them after not seeing them for 47 years.Please if possible try to get them to get in touch with me as coming to Cardiff is not a problem for me at all,if it means meeting up again. Thanks for your correspondence.I look forward to hearing from you. Best Wishes , Ray.

      • I will try to locate them via my site – Wish I was closer to England – Will let you know if I come up with anything

      • Thanks Craig.

  4. I’m coming to Somerset in June or July ,so I could make my way to Cardiff,if any of the guys could make time for meeting up with me.Best Wishes, Ray.

  5. Hi Ray. Just came across this. I’m Geoff McCarthy (macs daughter) who was the bass player. Dad died fifteen years ago aged 58 from Cancer. From what I understand Mike and Tony still live in Cardiff. I can ask my mother for further info as they may not have come across this website before.

    • Hi Jane,your dad was the one I was most closest to,so I am so sorry to hear of his untimely passing.If your mother could find out more re Mike Tony Eddie & Trevor,I would love to hear about them.Even their addresses or tel nos would be so helpful,as I would love to meet up with them again,.my address is 19 Short Road,Chiswick,London w4 2qu. Tel.07860 439961. I would love also to speak to you about Mac,just to know how his life was after the Shevells,as I have such fond memories of him,as very good bass player,but above all a great guy.Please do get in touch,as it would mean a lot to me. Best Wishes, Ray .

    • Hi Jane,I’ve just tried to send you a reply,but I am not sure it went out to you, It was regarding your dad,and the rest of the guys that I would love to meet up with after 48years again.Your dad was the one I was most closest to,so I am so sorry to hear of his untimely passing,a great bass player,but above all a great guy to be around.Please do get in touch as would love to hear about you dads life after the Shevells,and if your mum could get any news on the others, i e addresses ,phone numbers,that would be wonderful. My address is 19 Short Road,Chiswick,London W42qu,Tel no 0208,793 7405, Mob,07860 439961. Best Wishes,Ray.

  6. Jane,you dad was the closest to me of all the guys in the Shevells,so I was sorry to hear of his untimely passing.Not only was he a great bass player,but above all a great guy to be around.If your mother could get more info I.E,addresses and tel nos of any of the others,I would be so grateful.pleas get in touch re your dad life after the Shevells ,which would mean a lot to me,my address is 19 Short Road,Chiswick,London,W42qu. Tel,0208 793 7405, Mob,07860 439961.Best Wishes,Ray.

  7. Well its a life time ago but I loved meeting up with the band in London….Me a Penarth boy working for Kinks & Shel Talmy loved going to see them hey WATERMELON MAN….Wonder how Mike & Mac are?

    • Hi Ray,I was the Shevells drummer in London. I was told by Macs daughter awhile ago that Mac passed away 15 years ago.She said she would get her mother to get me more info re the rest of the boys in the band when her mother came back from holiday,but I haven’t heard anything yet.Do you have any info.

      • Hi Ray
        Its so long now I’m 72 & last spoke with Mac in Cardiff in the 80’s then I moved back to London & now for 17 years in Devon….Always had time for them. i can’t add any info, but in my heart I’m a proud Welsh boy til I die!!!!
        As to the Care Home I own it…..I do not live in it!

      • Ray,I let you know when I hear back from Macs Daughter Jane,or her mother.Ill get in touch with Jane,if I haven’t heard back soon.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

