PopBopRocktilUDrop

From the Land of Band Box Records

Original Saint Goes Marching In…

May 31, 2015
craigr244

The Original Saints

I have just received a series of comments from the original group leader of Denver’s “Saints” who recorded extensively on Denver’s Band Box Records.  Best to let Doug Hole (sax player) tell the story:

The Original Saints - 1959

The Original Saints – 1959 – Left-to-Right Back Row: Joe Holonbek, Dave Barhite, Joe Marisco – Unidentified Lead Vocalist – Sitting: Sax Player Doug Hole

(The above photo) “was taken at the Hop Spot in Englewood. I believe this was in the Spring of 1958 just before we formed the Saints.

“Just found this (Saints Listing) on Google. I am the Doug Hole sax guy who played with the Saints in 1958/59. The band was originally Doug Hole and The Saints until I left for college in August 1959. I am featured on the Tony Larson records. I was pleased to see that Dave (Barhite) and Joe are still around as we lost contact. I am still playing 50’s/60’s R&R with the drummer from my band in college. We played together for nearly 4 years and reunited in 2001 (This band was first called “The Magic Moments” and has since become “The Magic Memories”).

We played all around Denver for a year or so. We did open for Bobby Darren at 3 shows around Denver. One of the venues was on East Colfax at a roller skating rink. There was also a teen dance venue around 1st and Broadway. If you can listen to the Tony Larson record, I was the sax on those cuts. We also connected with Latino community and played at a church hall for mostly Hispanic audiences, this at a time when Richie Valens was so popular before “The Music Died” in Clear Lake, Iowa. Don’t hesitate to share this with Joe and Dave. They were excellent musicians.”

Band Box 237 - Larson, Tony - Cool YuleBand Box 237 - Larson, Tony - Bear Hug R

“I think we formed the Saints sometime in the Spring/summer of 1958.  The original group were Joe Marisco, Dave Barhite, Joe Holonbek, and me.  We did have several guys who did do vocals but their names escape me.

“Double Dougs & The Boom Booms”

"Double Dougs & The Boom Booms - Doug Hole on Sax"

“Double Dougs & The Boom Booms – Doug Hole on Sax Live on Radio Station KUDY” Left-to-Right: Balterson’s cousin, Marisco, Doug Balterson and Hole

My original band was with Doug Balterston who was an Elvis type.  We didn’t have a name just Doug Balterston.  My mother suggested we call the band “Double Dougs and the Boom Booms” but we passed on that as being uncool, today I think that is hilarious.  I graduated from Englewood HS in 1959.  Last Sunday they dedicated a memorial for EHS Veterans, I was a benefactor.  Did you notice the KUDY microphone in the picture?  

All of these connections began at the Hop Spot in South Englewood.  I didn’t play with any other groups in Denver.  I believe the Hop Spot also had a live feed by KIMN radio.  I also connected with Gene Price and Tony Larson when they were on KUDY radio in the Woodlawn shopping center.  We used the studio to do dome recording.  By the way, the Saints name came from “When The Saints Go Marching In” our theme song.

We didn’t have a name just Doug Balterston.  My mother suggested we call the band “Double Dougs and the Boom Booms” but we passed on that as being uncool, today I think that is hilarious.  I graduated from Englewood HS in 1959.  Last Sunday they dedicated a memorial for EHS Veterans, I was a benefactor.  Did you notice the KUDY microphone in the picture?  

After the Saints

Colonel Doug Hole

Colonel Doug Hole

I left Denver and went to the College of Wooster in Ohio.  Had a band and we ended up as the featured band at the Peppermint Lounge in Cleveland in the 1962/64 time frame.

I joined the Air Force in 1964 and spent the next 28 years as an intelligence officer.

I was in Vietnam in 68/69 at Tan Son Nhut as the out country air war briefer for General Brown and the 7th AF staff.  In 1969 I returned to the Pentagon and was the briefer on the Vietnam War for the CJCS, White House staff, and other senior government officials.  I then went to Lowry in Denver, followed by assignments in Montgomery, Langley AFB, NATO in Denmark, CENTCOM in Tampa and finally European Command in Stuttgart, Germany.

I was promoted to full colonel in the fall of 1986, my last assignment was as Chief of Operational Intelligence for the European Theater.  We then settled in Annapolis, Maryland.  I taught school for another 13 years before retiring in 2006.

Today “The Magic Memories” perform casually for friends and family in Blacksburg, VA.

The Colonel Serenades his Lovely Wife

The Colonel Serenades his Lovely Wife with a rendition of “You’re So Fine” – Still Rockin’!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

