PopBopRocktilUDrop

From the Land of Band Box Records

Rock & Roll Books (and more) Part 2 – 2000 through 2004

December 15, 2016
craigr244

Rock & Roll Books

Here is the next batch of Rock Publications taking us through publication year 2004.  Click here to visit the current collection.

2000 Rock and Roll Books

“Sixteen years after his sudden death, Elvis Presley is more popular than ever. This first complete and authenticated compendium contains everything there is to know about the King’s personal life, presented in riveting detail by David Stanley–Elvis’s stepbrother–who lived with Elvis for 17 years at Graceland”

rock-pub-2000-david-stanley

Goin’ Back to Memphis: A Century of Blues, Rock ‘n’ Roll and Glorious Soul – James L. Dickerson

“Goin’ Back to Memphis is an engaging survey of the town and its characters”

rock-pub-2000-james-dickerson

Anti-Rock: The Opposition to Rock ‘n’ Roll – Linda Martin

“The authors document the numerous attempts to ban or censor rock music, and dramatically show how it has been blamed for everything from anarchy and juvenile delinquency to drugs, deafness, teen pregnancy, suicide, abortion, pornography, and even murder. Here is the complete history of that “sick, repulsive, horrible, and dangerous” music as seen.”

rock-pub-2000-linda-martin

God, Guns & Rock and Roll – Ted Nugent

“Rock and roll legend Ted Nugent shares his “Warrior Spirit” and contends that a lot of what is wrong with this country could be remedied by a simple but controversial concept: gun ownership. Nugent says that our choice is whether we want to be a nation of passive victims or responsible men and women who defend our rights and the safety of our communities.”

rock-pub-2000-ted-nugent

Girl Groups – Fabulous Females That Rocked The World by John Clemente: Published 2000 by Krause Publications (276 pages) – These are the old school girl groups primarily from the 1960’s including some you may not be familiar with such as The Rosebuds, Shirley Gunter  and The Queens, and The Joytones.

POP BOOKS - GIRL GROUPS

2001 Rock & Roll Books

Rip It Up!: Rock and Roll Rulebreakers – Denise Sullivan

“Blending personal insight with recent firsthand interviews, this book is a tribute to rock and roll anarchists–such as Ike Turner, Ramblin’ Jack Elliott, The Kinks, Talking Heads, and Elvis Costello–who ignited generations of musicians and fans. 40 photos”

rock-pub-2001-01-denise-sulllivan

Rock ‘n’ Roll Jews – Professor Michael Billig

“A disciplined study that reveals the many contributions of Jews throughout the history of rock ‘n’ roll.”

rock-pub-2001-michael-billig

Inside the Hits: The Seduction of a Rock and Roll Generation – Wayne Wadhams

“How does a song become more than words and music to represent or influence the voice of a generation? Inside the Hits dissects more than 60 of the most powerful and memorable hit songs since the birth of rock and roll to reveal the roots of their success. Author Wayne Wadhams examines the key ingredients that made the songs work”

rock-pub-2001-wayne-wadhams

What’d I Say The Atlantic Story 50 Years of Music by Ahmet Ertegun: Published 2001 by Julio Mario Santo Domingo & Charles Perry Richardson (568 pages) – Such a great and dynamic label with hundreds of acts both famous and unknown to many of us.

POP BOOKS - ATLANTIC

2002 Rock & Roll Books

She’s a Rebel: The Histroy of Women in Rock and Roll – Gillian G. Gaar

“Gaar’s critically acclaimed, breakthrough book became an instant classic upon its publication in 1992. Arranged chronologically and told with impassioned detail, “She’s A Rebel” charts a half century of women performers.”

rock-pub-2002-gillian-gaar

Sonic Cool: The Life & Death of Rock’n’roll – Joe Harrington

“In the tradition of Nick Tosches, Tom Wolfe and Lester Bangs comes an epic and riveting history of rock and roll that reads like a novel. Sonic Cool presents the saga of rock and roll as the closest thing we have to genuine “myth” in the modern world, and it is the first book about rock to be written in the spirit of rock.”

rock-pub-2002-joe-harrington

Rock and Roll Doctor: The Music of Lowell George and Little Feat – Mark Brend

“Best known as founder, lead singer, and guitarist for Little Feat, Lowell George’s creative vision drove the critically acclaimed band. With photographs and based on interviews with fellow musicians, friends, and family, “Rock and Roll Doctor” explores the musical legacy of one of the most eclectic musician-producers of the 1970’s”

rock-pub-2002-mark-brend

Rock ‘n’ Roll Trivia: A Rollicking Ride Through the Glory Days of Rock ‘n’ Roll – Michael Harling

“What was the Beach Boys’ original name? (The Pendletones, after a popular shirt manufacturer.) Who performed first at the famed Woodstock festival: Joan Baez, Country Joe & the Fish, Arlo Guthrie, or Richie Havens? (Havens.) You’ll want to rock around the clock with nearly 200 fabulous, fun trivia questions about classic rock’s most unforgettable.”

rock-pub-2002-michael-harling

Guitar Towns: A Journey to the Crossroads of Rock ‘n’ Roll – Randy McNutt

“Randy McNutt s passion for music comes through loud and clear on every page.” George Thorogood Everyone knows the importance of Nashville, New York, LA, and Chicago to popular music, but what about Norfolk and Bakersfield? When recording was more art than commerce, regional music centers flourished.”

rock-pub-2002-randy-mcnutt

Every Sound There Is: The Beatles’ Revolver and the Transformation of Rock and Roll – Russell Reising

“Revolver and the Transformation of Rock and Roll assesses and celebrates the Beatles’ accomplishment in their 1966 masterpiece. The essays of Every Sound There Is examine Revolver from a large number of complementary starting points that help us to understand both the album’s contemporary creation and reception and the…”

rock-pub-2002-russell-reising

The History of Rock and Roll – Stuart A. Kallen

“Ever since the early 1950s, rock and roll music has continually transformed culture and society with its rebellious mix of rhythm, fashion, and musical passion. History of Rock and Roll examines the music and the musicians throughout the decades from its humble roots to the multi-billion dollar industry of today.”

rock-pub-2002-stuart-kallen

Turn! Turn! Turn~ – The 60’s Folk Rock Revolution by Ritchie Unterberger: Published by Backbeat Books 2002 (304 pages)

POP BOOKS - TURN TURN TURN

2003

A Misfit’s Manifesto: The Spiritual Journey of a Rock & Roll Heart – Donna Gaines

“Gaines is a self-described “bourbon-guzzling, pill-popping, penis-addicted, workaholic, tattooed Jew” with a Ph.D. and a pistol permit. “A Misfit’s Manifesto” is about living with the contradictions. This is how she did it, and found God in all the unlikely places–like Ramones songs.”

rock-pub-2003-donna-gaines

The Howlin’ Wolf Story – The Secret History of Rock & Roll – Joe Lauro

rock-pub-2003-joe-lauro

Strum and Drang: Great Moments in Rock ‘n’ Roll – Joel Orff

“Everyone has at least one Rock and Roll Memory. For three years Joel Orff collected these stories and illustrated them.”

rock-pub-2003-joel-orff

Rock & Roll Year by Year – Luke Crampton

“From Abba to ZZ Top, from the birth of rock and roll in the 50Us to the unpredictable music of the present day, “Rock & Roll Year By Year” is the definitive guide to the music that influenced generations and helped shaped history.”

rock-pub-2003-luke-crampton

Sid Vicious: Rock n Roll Star – Malcolm Butt

“No one embodied the Sex Pistols raw, anarchic excesses like bassist Sid Vicious. Told from an insider’s perspective, “Sid Vicious: Rock ‘n’ Roll Star” covers the brief life of punk’s original poster boy including everything from Vicious’s lowly beginning as the only child of a drug-addicted parent to his obsession with violence and the notorious death”

rock-pub-2003-malcolm-butt

Faith, God and Rock & Roll – Mark Joseph

“God rocks! At least for an ever-increasing number of the global population. With the present unstable and the future uncertain, fans are reassessing their lives. One area in which this reassessment is manifesting itself is popular music. Faith-based rock no longer need be associated with evangelical “happy clappers”

rock-pub-2003-mark-joseph

Star Man: The Right Hand Man of Rock ‘n’ Roll – Michael Francis

Life changed for Michael Francis at the age of 21 when Paul McCartney walked into his father’s boxing gym to watch his friend John Conteh preparing for a fight. Paul hired Michael as his security guard, beginning a thirty-year music business career in which he worked with such legendary names as Led Zeppelin, Bad Company, The Osmonds….”

rock-pub-2003-michael-francis

Eight Miles High – Folk Rock’s Flight from Haight Ashbury to Woodstock by Richie Unterberger: Published by Backbeat Books 2003 (344 pages)

POP BOOKS - EIGHT MILES HIGH

2004

Fever: How Rock ‘n’ Roll Transformed Gender in America – Tim Riley

“Riley takes an insightful look at how rock and roll has changed the way men and women think about themselves–and each other.”

rock-pub-2004-01-tim-riley

Dylan and Cohen: Poets of Rock and Roll – David Boucher

“Bob Dylan and Leonard Cohen are widely acknowledged as the great pop poets of the 1960s, transforming the popular song into a medium for questionng the personal, social, and political norms of their times. They emerged at a time when the music industry was transforming the revolutionary sound of black music into something bland, homogeneous….”

rock-pub-2004-david-boucher

Take a Walk on the Dark Side: Rock and Roll Myths, Legends, and Curses – R. Gary Patterson

“Patterson uncovers some of rock and roll’s most celebrated unsolved murders, tragic deaths, bizarre twists of irony, and decades-long streaks of bad luck that defied rational explanation.”

rock-pub-2004-gary-patterson

ll Shook Up: How Rock ‘n’ Roll Changed America – Glenn C. Altschuler

“This is a brilliant account of the birth of rock and roll and how it transformed America in the 1950’s.’

rock-pub-2004-glenn-altschuler

Rock & Roll War Stories – Gordon G. Gebert and Lynn Ramage

“Gordon G. G. Gebert has the incredible proclivity of drawing in and entertaining every reader. We look forward to many entertaining books in the future from this incredibly witty, clever entertainer.”

rock-pub-2004-gordon-gebert

Gene Vincent & Eddie Cochran Rock & Roll Revolutionaries – John Collis

“The UK tour by Eddie Cochran and Gene Vincent early in 1960 marked a defining moment in British popular culture. It signalled the end of the monochrome 1950s and heralded the ‘Swinging Sixties’. It put rock’n’roll on the map, paving the way for the Beatles, Merseybeat and the ‘British invasion’ of America. Cochran and Vincent were unlikely friends”

rock-pub-2004-john-collis

Hippie by Barry Miles: Published by Sterling Publishing Co., 2004 (384 pages) – A magical pictorial and historical trip back to San Francisco primarily from 1965 through 1971.   People love to say “If you remember the 60’s then you weren’t there” but yet so many remember so much as this documentary testifies.

POP BOOKS - HIPPIE

Colorado Rocks! A Half-Century of Music In Colorado by G. Brown: Published by Pruett Publishing (now Pub West) 2004 (80 pages) – My copy is falling apart (the binding seems suspect) as was the library copy I used before purchasing – but this one is a “can’t do without” history of the local scene.

POP BOOKS - COLO ROCKS

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: